Samsung Galaxy Tab E Review: Worth Buying

By posted on August 23, 2015 9:57PM
Samsung Galaxy Tab E

Earlier this month, Samsung Galaxy Tab E was launched in India along with the Samsung Galaxy Tab A and recently, the Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge+ is launched in the country. It is a good tablet according to our vision, and it is priced around Rs. 16K INR. Does it fit in your budget? Well, that’s great as this tablet is already here. It is a tablet with very good features and was launched in India a few weeks ago. The device is priced at Rs.15,999. It is a good competitor to Apple iPad which is also there in the market. Today, we have got Samsung Galaxy Tab E Review loaner, and find out, whether this young man is good for your next purchase or not.

[youtube url=”https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x1bmXqPj-eM”]

Design, Display, Touchscreen and Hardware:

DSC_0203

[two_third]Samsung Galaxy Tab E is having a very nice and comfortable design which is having the damped or forced in circular edges at the four corners and we can see that the angular edges are quite nice, and there is a metallic bezel kind of thing running around the tablet, but the glass looks quite nice. Also, the design of this device is not similar to the other tablets around this price range as this device is not just like the other tablets. But, it reminds us about the original Galaxy Tab as it feels like a stretched out Galaxy Tab, which is larger in size, but at this price range the performance also matters a lot with the design[/two_third]
[one_third_last][blockquote]

” Tablet Will Survive in Drop test

[/blockquote][/one_third_last]

The Samsung Galaxy Tab E is having a nice graceful design and users are surely going to say that it is a good tablet. The consumers are getting a little bored from the same designs so, it can be good for purchase in terms of design. No doubt, it is a good tablet, but still the looks also matter in this race. It is quite easy to hold this tablet in the hand, and also, the edges are not slippery so it’s not going to slip away from your hand. Also, it is not going to bend for sure. The best thing is that it is small and compact.

DSC_0209

The Samsung Galaxy Tab E comes with a 9.6-inch TFT capacitive touchscreen display, which is 800 x 1280 pixels in resolution, and it provides a pixel density of 157ppi and we are going to be honest with you, the screen is quite sharp, but it is not tremendous or outperforming and the texts are okay on this display. It is a TFT display and gives you an aspect ratio of 5:3 and the estimated percentage of the screen area from the device’s front end is 73.90%. The device is actually having a low PPI, but the screen resolution is good, but there are many tablets present around 20K INR with better pixel density and 720p display, but budget matters.

[one_third_last][blockquote]

“The Design Of This Tablet Is Quite Good

[/blockquote][/one_third_last]

Yes! The display can be broken but the touchscreen and the inner part will be safe. We have not done the drop test of this device, but we think that this tablet is going to handle the petty amount of damage. This is a TFT display, thus, it is good for this price range one of the best, and honestly the brightness level of this tablet is too good. Also, if you are familiar to Android then you know that the platform is battery sucker, so the lowest brightness level will make your battery survive more time. But, it comes with a battery saver mode which will help in saving battery life.

DSC_0224

The Samsung Galaxy Tab E is 241.9 x 149.5 x 8.5 mm in dimensions and this is a slim device. It is thin, but it’s weight is low as compared to many tablets. It weighs about 490g. The weight of this tablet is also okay, and we felt it is kind of a light thing to hold in the hand or to place in the bag. The tablet feels solid, it feels solid in the hand. The device comes with two standard capacitive touch buttons which are present underneath the screen this time, and it is not taking a little bit of space in the touchscreen this time, but these are quite small and in darkness it can be difficult to use them.DSC_0215

 

This good priced tablet is having all the required ports. There is also a noise cancellation port present on this device. Anyway, this tablet is having an okay touch sensitivity and we haven’t faced difficulty with the response of touchscreen. The touch sensitivity was quite better than the old low priced Tabs because that was lagging sometimes. Overall, this tablet is quite good in the terms of hardware, design and display and you can see our ratings above and also hover on the other side to show your ratings.

OS, Messaging and Connectivity Features:

Screenshot_2015-08-10-17-30-54-horz

The Samsung Galaxy Tab E is running on the Android 5.0 Lollipop wrapped under its proprietary TouchWiz UI. The company has not split any beans regarding its future software update. It is has a 3.4.67 Kernel version which is going to be useful for the developers. Anyway, if you know the rooting process, then you can surely root the tablet to help yourselves immensely with many a things.

[one_third_last][blockquote]

“The OS Is Again Disappointing, No Android Lollipop.

[/blockquote][/one_third_last]

On the software front, we did not find any kind of issue and as it is running on Android it is really good as you are going to get as many apps as you want to download from the Google Play Store. Android 4.4 KitKat improves on the speed and simplicity of KitKatand includes all new features – Photo Sphere and a completely redesigned camera app, new Gesture Typing keyboard, Google Now with all new cards, and much more.

Everything in KitKat feels fast, fluid, and smooth. Moving between home screens and switching between apps is effortless, like turning the pages of a book. Android KitKat improves performance throughout the system, including faster orientation changes, quicker switching between recent apps, and smoother and more consistent rendering across the system through vsync and triple buffering.

Screenshot_2015-08-10-17-33-02

KitKat has more reactive and uniform touch responses, and makes your Android device even more responsive by boosting your device’s CPU instantly when you touch the screen, and turns it down when you don’t need it to improve battery life.The clock has been totally redesigned with an all new look which includes both a digital and analog clock style. The world clock lets you check the time in different cities right from the Clock app or your lock screen. So, that is all about the Android KitKat and now, let’s move on  towards the next thing which is the connectivity feature.

Samsung Galaxy Tab E is having a big screen, so you may have expected this device to bring luxurious typing quality to it, and it with stands on your expectation. Yup! it is pretty okay. If you are having small hands then will not find any trouble as it is a 5-inch display and it will be good for people with big hands to type in the landscape mode. So, if you are having small hands better use the portrait mode.

Screenshot_2015-08-10-17-30-58

 

The people after texting can’t say that they are facing any kind of finger pain issues. The keys are having good space between them and in the Samsung Galaxy Tab E review video you can find a lot regarding texting. Also, we have used fast typing test and the buttons were working fine whcih means that you can use this device well in case of emergency typing.

This is a 4G only device and has connectivity features like Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, USB port and a 3.5mm headphone jack as well. It uses micro-SIM card and we have checked all the connectivity features, and no problems were found with the connectivity features. Overall, this tablet was also quite good in the terms of OS and Connectivity. You can find our ratings above for this section too. It also supports OTG, which we forgot to mention above.

Camera and Processor & Performance:

DSC_0291

The Samsung Galaxy Tab E Review Video is also present below, so do watch that too. It comes with a 5-Megapixl AutoFocus camera with the single LED flash and it is capable of shooting HD videos as well. This device can shoot in a resolution of 720p. Under 20K INR, there are a lot tablets available with 1080p HD video shooting capability, thus it is not a big deal. The primary camera comes with a CMOS BSI sensor and takes image in 2592 х 1944 pixels. Also, it come with features like HDR, AF, Geo tagging, Digital Zoom, Panaroma, Touch Focus, Continuous shooting, ISO setting, Face Detection, White Balance setting, Blue filter glass and much more.

Focusing was good on this device and sometimes we didn’t faced lag in automatic exposure detection. The final textures were good, and one of the best. The macro shots were very good, also we have tested this camera in sunlight and the results very quite nice. But, the camera performed very well in low light conditions. The single LED flash is also quite powerful.

DSC_0288

Anyway, moving ahead with the Samsung Galaxy Tab E Review, on the front of this device there is a 2-Megapixel camera present, which is quite useful as it has got the 4G support, so, you can make the video calls with it. On the other hand, you can use the front camera to set your hair style and see your beautiful face. Also, you can shoot HD videos with it. It will bring very good details on screen.

There is no flash present on the front side of this device. We have deeply tested both these cameras and the rear camera is pretty good and the front camera is also okay. At this moment, we have got photos to share and you can find out more in the Samsung Galaxy Tab E Review video below.

DSC_0262

This device is also packing a Quad-Core processor. It is a true Quad-Core processor and we have done both benchmark test and gaming review video of this tablet, . It comes with th ARM Mali T760 MP2 GPU and you can check it’s score below. he Antutu scores are provided above and you can clearly see that the scores are outstanding as there are many tablets which are priced above 20K and brought a score of 18000. So, in comparison to those tablets, it is far better. The Quadrant score was also good and you can see the live gaming performance and quadrant score in the Samsung Galaxy Tab E Video Review below.

 

The device is quite good for gaming. We have played games like Asphalt 8, Brother in Arms, Gun Battleship and many more. All these games worked well on this tablet, but there was no lag during the movement. We should also keep the price tag in mind as the tablet offers a lot of things under 20K INR.

DSC_0232

We have also played a lot of Full HD videos on the tablet, and the playback was quite good, there were a few hesitating moments, but overall, it was good. Multitasking was quite good and we do not think that the consumers are going to face day-to-day multitasking problems. The batteryt life of this device was quite good and it lasted for 8 hours and 58 minutes. Also, we saw a good thing, that the battery life was not decreasing uniformly. It was decreasing slowly, and that was a good sign.

Others:

DSC_0214

Samsung Galaxy Tab E is not a bad tablet, but it is not the best in the market as it will give you a good performance, but it will lag in some areas and apart from that, we have also checked the call quality of this tablet and we have found it satisfying, and the person on the other side was able to hear clearly. The internal storage of this device is 8GB and you can expand the external storage up to 128GB via a MicroSD card, and it is the only tablet which supports that amount of expandable storage.

The rest of the tablets support, only up to 32GB of expandable storage. The device comes with a nice ceramic matte finish, and you can take photos in high speed burst mode too. Also, the front camera supports upto 15 beauty effects. This device is also having many other features which includes playing various video and audio formats and much more.

DSC_0229

There are two microphones for noise reduction and also, on removing the back panel  you will be able to see dual-SIM card slots and a MicroSD card slot. The handset also comes with a 5000mAh non-removable battery. The battery life was fairly good. The display worked very well in the sunlight too.

Conclusion:

Screenshot_2015-08-09-23-31-03

 

The Samsung Galaxy Tab E is not a high end tablet, but the company has tried to put their best efforts as the device is having very good feature. Also, this Tablet is available in both White and Black colors. This device is priced at Rs. 15,999, and you can get it from Online retailers. It is one of the good tablets present in India, under 20K INR at this moment. So, there you go that was all about the Samsung Galaxy Tab E Review and  watch the complete review video below to know more. Also, check out the image gallery underneath. Thanks for reading our review. Please Hover Above to rate this tablet. Also, you will need to buy a protective case as the tablet can get dirty, and it picks up smudges and grease easily.

Samsung Galaxy Tab E Review Video:

[youtube url=”https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qc9Xg9kB2rU”]

[signoff icon=”attention”]The Samsung Galaxy Tab E Review is totally genuine and we shared our views honestly. Thanks a lot to the folks over at Samsung for sending us the Tab E.[/signoff]

Image Gallery:

If you have followed us on youtube then you may know about Rob.Kaustabh aka Rob is a tech guy with having an experience of tech blogging since 2009.He is a sort of person who wants to provide you latest updates,to keep you updated.He basically likes to write Articles and post videos.Currently,he is senior editor in our tech blogging site and has promised to give you regular updates for many years.

Recently Published Stories

Apple iPhone X

Apple iPhone X expected price and launch date in India

Apple has just announced the new Apple iPhone X and everything looks great and promising. Tim Cook, the CEO of

Apple iPhone X

Apple iPhone X launched: Price, Features are here

The cupertino tech giant is live at Apple Park, and they are revealing a lot of products. They have already

Apple iPhone 8

Apple iPhone 8 and iPhone 8 Plus announced, features explained here

Everything is going on here, Apple is live from the Steve Jobs theater and they have announced the Apple Watch

Apple TV 4K

Apple TV 4K 2017 launched at Steve Jobs theater, features here

Apple is live from Steve Jobs theater and the Cupertino tech giant has announced the new Apple TV 4K. Well,

Apple Watch 2017

Apple Watch 2017 launched at Apple Park: Features explained

  Apple Watch 2017  is here, it has become the number one watch in the world, it was previously at

Samsung Galaxy S6 vs Apple iPhone 6

Why Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge is still advantageous over iPhone 7 Plus?

Earlier this year, Samsung introduced their beast phones. Yes, we are talking about the Samsung Galaxy S7 and Samsung Galaxy