Samsung Galaxy S4 Review: The Real Life Companion?

By posted on April 23, 2014 12:52AM

1

 The year 2013 has been started with a bang as at the Consumer Electronics Show of this year, we got the first hint about the display of the Samsung Galaxy S4 and later on, the company released the Press Event news and there the Korean giant launched the fourth generation of S series device, the  third gen S successor–The Samsung Galaxy S4. Well, the year was started with a bang and in the first quarter this phone has gone for sale and the results were quite good as well.Anyway, today we have got the new device and here we are going to review this phone as you guys are going to pay a lot for this phone and whether it is so much worth or not, you can find all details below.


What’s in the box:

  • Samsung Galaxy S4
  • Samsung Galaxy S4 Handbook
  • User Manual
  • Warrant Cards
  • Head Phones
  • USB based charger
  • MicroUSb to USB based data cable

Unboxing Video:

[youtube width=”640″ height=”360″]H_VLiEoZIq8[/youtube]

Design, Display,Touch Screen and Hardware:

Samsung Galaxy S4 is having a nice display and the hardware is quite fine, but the design is not good.Why so? Just read on.Samsung’s fort add up in the ‘S’ series was a remarkable thing and this device is quite good to on the hardware front as on the front of this device there is a 5.0-inch Super AMOLED capacitive touchscreen display which is 1080 x 1920 pixels in resolution and it is the first device from the Korean giant to have a Full HD i.e. the 1080p HD display.The display is Corning Gorilla Glass 3 display and the screen offers a 441ppi which is quite good as compared to the other phones which are giving it a great competition.

2013-05-11-1660 Samsung Galaxy S4 is quite a strong device and it feels solid in the hand.The device feels completely hard and what we liked the most is the nice metal bezel running all around the phone and that provides a nice grip of the phone.This device is having a Menu button and the bottom end of the front side and there are two other capacitive touch buttons present on the either sides which are back and settings button which glows when you touch the screen.Well, this device is quite nice in terms of touch sensitivity and you can set the touch sensitivity easily according to your use.If you select the high sensitivity option then you can use this touchscreen while wearing gloves and it will be handy when you are facing extreme cold weather.Well, the Korean giant is not the first company to introduce this technology, but we are glad to see that this phone is having that amount of touch sensitivity and we have also done that in the review video which you can watch below.

Samsung Galaxy S4 136.6 x 69.8 x 7.9 mm in dimensions and this device is 7.9mm thin.It weighs about 130g. Well, it is one of the thinnest device of the world and it is quite light weighed too.The phone is available in both White and Black colors and we are hearing that the Red Aqua version is also going to be introduced in the future.Anyway, the hardware is quite solid, though we have not done the drop test so, at this moment we do not know whether the Samsung Galaxy S4  will survive after falling from a severe height or not, but we think that it will survive.

2013-05-11-1667 Samsung Galaxy S4 is all good in terms of design, display and hardware, but what about design? Frankly, the design of the fourth gen ‘S’ series device is quite old as the Galaxy S has the same deign, after S2 has a new design and now Samsung Galaxy Grand have the same design and that is why we are saying that the design is not so much appreciable as the company is using the same old design.We have expected that this year we are going to see a new design, but nope the company has chosen to keep the old design and that’s what we mainly disliked about this phone.

Messaging and New Tech–Air Gestures, Smart Pause, Smart Scroll

Samsung Galaxy S4 is having a quite big screen and thus, we think that it is not going to give a hard time to the businessmen and other folks who message quite time and their main work is based on doing the messaging stuff.Well, we really liked the screen as you can use both the portrait and the landscape mode for typing a message.The keys are having space as well for making that tying easily, after typing our fingers were not paining and if you have big hands than you can use the landscape mode and if you are having small hands then you should use the portrait mode for feeling less strain.But if you are smart, then you can use the S Voice for writing and there will be no pain in your fingers.Take a looks at the Messaging app on the display of Samsung Galaxy S4.

2013-05-11-1670
Samsung Galaxy S4 is also loaded with new technology like the Air Gestures, Smart Pause, Smart Stay and Smart Scroll.Well, we are going to explain these new technologies to you guys over here.Well, with the Air Gesture technology you do not need to touch your device for moving the images and you can just shift the images by keeping the hand a little about the Galaxy S4 front sode where the sensors are located, they are going to catch your gestures and basically, here the palm is used.When, you move you palm towards the left hand side you are going to see the previous image and in the opposite case the next image is going to be shown.You can done the same thing in the case of videos also and it is quite fun to make the movements without touching the screen.

2013-05-11-1673 The next up is the Smart Pause technology which is used to stop the video instantly when you are disturbed.Well, suppose you are seating on a chair and watching a video and suddenly someone rings the door bell and you immediately make your eyes move off the screen towards the door then, the video is going to stop right there and suppose, if you know it is a newspaper man or someone else who doesn’t need to enter the house, you can just place your eyes back on the screen.The sensors are again going to capture you eyes moment and within the milliseconds of time frame the video is going to start from the point where you left and that what the Smart Pause is and we have already done that in the video below as a demo.So, you should watch the video to see the live happenings.

In the same way Samsung Smart Stay works and to scroll the things with your head just use the smart scroll.What you will have to do is to enable the smart scroll and move your head up and down to scroll upwards and downwards respectively.The new features are quite nice and this phone also supports the Air View technology which makes it easy for you guys to make the apps open without touching them and this tech was first introduced with the Samsung Galaxy Note II.

Operating System and Connectivity Feature:

2013-05-11-1652 Samsung Galaxy S4 is an Android device and is running on the Big G’s Android 4.2.2 Jelly Bean operating system and we can assure you that this device is surely going to get the future updates as well.The Google 2013 I/O event is also going to kick off very soon and there the next version of Android can also be announced, and we are sure that this device is going to get that update.Android 4.2, Jelly Bean improves on the speed and simplicity of Android 4.1 and includes all new features – Photo Sphere and a completely redesigned camera app, new Gesture Typing keyboard, Google Now with all new cards, and much more.

Everything in Jelly Bean feels fast, fluid, and smooth. Moving between home screens and switching between apps is effortless, like turning the pages of a book.Jelly Bean improves performance throughout the system, including faster orientation changes, quicker switching between recent apps, and smoother and more consistent rendering across the system through vsync and triple buffering.Jelly Bean has more reactive and uniform touch responses, and makes your Android device even more responsive by boosting your device’s CPU instantly when you touch the screen, and turns it down when you don’t need it to improve battery life.This is an Android device and is surely going to suck the battery up, but there are many apps present in the Google Play Store which can give you a better life time.

2013-05-11-1648 Samsung Galaxy S4 is a 4G+LTE(Market dependent) device and has connectivity features like Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac, dual-band, DLNA, Wi-Fi Direct, Wi-Fi hotspot, GPRS, EDGE, Bluetooth v4.0 with A2DP, EDR, LE, NFC microUSB v2.0 (MHL 2), USB On-the-go, USB Host and the infrared port as well.This device uses the micro-SIM card and we have checked all the connectivity features and all these connectivity features work perfectly fine.

Camera and Processor:

Samsung Galaxy S4 is also having both rear and front facing camera as well.There is a 13 Megapixel 4128 x 3096 pixels, auto-focus camera present with single LED flash and this camera is capable of shooting 1080p HD videos at 30fps. Well, the camera quality of this phone is superb and we are also satisfied with the video recording capability.The best thing about this camera is that it can capture images in different modes providing you different color options.This is the great feature which has been introduced by the company with this camera.So, have a look at the camera present on the back of this phone in the image below.

2013-05-11-1674

Samsung Galaxy S4 is having a great recorder as well and you can see that in the video below.There is a camera present on the front side as well.So, there is a 2 Megapixel secondary camera present which is capable of making video calls in full 1080p mode and you can use dual-video call mode at a single time.This device is the first smartphone to pack an Octa Core processor.We have seen that this device is packing the Samsung Exynos Octa core processor which was announced over at the MWC, 2013.This phone is also packing a 1.6GHz Quad-Core processor plus a 1.2 GHz Quad-Core processor which makes this phone the one and only first phone of this world to pack a Octa core processor means it is having eight-cores.There is 2GB of RAM as well.We think that it is more than enough for doing the day to day multitasking and there you can play a lot of HD and 3D games on this phone without hanging.We have noted that when the battery level is low, the phone performs very badly and goes real slow.Apart from that there is no issue.

2013-05-11-1673

Others:

Samsung Galaxy S4 has many new features as well.In the camera mode you are going to find the Dual Shot, Simultaneous HD video and image recording, geo-tagging, touch focus, face and smile detection, image stabilization, HDR like features.It has got Accelerometer, gyro, proximity, compass, barometer, temperature, humidity, gesture like sensors as well.It contains the drop box also which can store upto 50GB of your data on giving command.It has got Active noise cancellation with dedicated mic.You can also do wireless charging as well.This phone is available in 16/32/64GB models and you can also expand the external storage upto 64GB via a microSD card.This device is also capable of providing 1080p HD video playback.The speakers are also nice.

2013-05-11-1665 The Verdict:

Samsung Galaxy S4 Review has been done thoroughly and we are going to give this phone 4.5/5 because of the new technology.The marks have been deducted because it is neither a rugged device and nor is having an ultrapixel camera which will surely be seen in the future smartphones.Software is no one issue in the history, and there is no need to worry about as the company has been working with the latest technology which is good for all the users.The price of the Samsung Galaxy S4 is quite high and we do not think that most of the people are going to afford it.Well, the company is soon going to out the Samsung Galaxy S4 Mini and that will be priced low.Well, you can watch the complete review video below and you can also check out the image gallery underneath.

Image Gallery:

If you have followed us on youtube then you may know about Rob.Kaustabh aka Rob is a tech guy with having an experience of tech blogging since 2009.He is a sort of person who wants to provide you latest updates,to keep you updated.He basically likes to write Articles and post videos.Currently,he is senior editor in our tech blogging site and has promised to give you regular updates for many years.

Recently Published Stories

OnePlus 5T

OnePlus 5T launched with good specs and amazing price

OnePlus has been teasing the OnePlus 5T for a while now, and we know how much powerful was the OnePlus

Google Pixel 2

Google Pixel 2 and Pixel 2 XL announced with prices and specs

A few days ago, nope, actually a few months ago we heard about the Google Pixel 2 and Pixel XL.

Apple iPhone 8

5 reasons not to buy Apple iPhone 8

A week ago, Apple iPhone 8, iPhone 8 Plus and iPhone X or iPhone 10 were introduced. Apple turned 10

Apple iPhone X

Apple iPhone X expected price and launch date in India

Apple has just announced the new Apple iPhone X and everything looks great and promising. Tim Cook, the CEO of

Apple iPhone X

Apple iPhone X launched: Price, Features are here

The cupertino tech giant is live at Apple Park, and they are revealing a lot of products. They have already

Apple iPhone 8

Apple iPhone 8 and iPhone 8 Plus announced, features explained here

Everything is going on here, Apple is live from the Steve Jobs theater and they have announced the Apple Watch