InFocus M350 Review: Worth buying or just an another phone?

By posted on July 18, 2015 1:22AM
InFocus M350 Review

Earlier this month, InFocus M350 was launched in India along with the InFofucs M530 and recently, the InFocus M810 is launched in the country. It is a good smartphone according to our vision, but it is priced around Rs. 15K INR. Doesn’t fit in your budget? Well, nothing to worry about as InFocus M350 is here. It is a smartphone with very good features and was launched in India a few weeks ago. The handset is priced at Rs. 7,999. It is a good competitor to Yu Yuphoria which was launched last month. Today, we have got InFocus M350 Review loaner, and find out, whether this young man is good for your next purchase or not.

DSC_0204

History of smartphone manufacturer:

InFocus is neither a new nor a Chinese company. It is an American company which is known for it’s DLP, LCD projectors, LCD flat panel touchscreen, and also produces software for digital annotation and video calling. In 2013, InFocus began offering budget high-specification smartphones in Asia, including India. Their recent products in India are InFocus M2, M330, M350, M530 and M810.

DSC_0206

Design, Display, Touchscreen and Hardware:

DSC_0205

[two_third]InFocus M350 is having a very nice and comfortable design which is having the damped or forced in circular edges at the four corners and we can see that the angular edges are quite nice, and there is a metallic bezel kind of thing running around the phone, but the glass looks quite nice. Also, the design of this device is not similar to the other handsets around this price range as this device is not just like the other smartphones. But, it reminds us about the InFocus M2 as it feels like a stretched out M2, which is larger in size, but at this price range the performance also matters a lot with the design[/two_third]
[one_third_last][blockquote]

” Phone Will Survive in Drop test

[/blockquote][/one_third_last]

DSC_0198

The InFocus M350 is having a nice graceful design and users are surely going to say that it is a good smartphone. The consumers are getting a little bored from the same designs so, it can be good for purchase in terms of design. No doubt, it is a good smartphone, but still the looks also matter in this race. It is quite easy to hold this phone in the hand, and also, the edges are not slippery so it’s not going to slip away from your hand. Also, it is not going to bend for sure.

DSC_0195

The InFocus M350 comes with a 5-inch IPS multi-touch capacitive touchscreen display, which is 1280 x 720 pixels in resolution, and it provides a pixel density of 294ppi and we are going to be honest with you, the screen is quite sharp, but it is not tremendous or outperforming and the texts are okay on this display. It is an IPS LCD display and gives you an aspect ratio of 5:3 and the estimated percentage of the screen area from the device’s front end is 64.04%. The device is actually having a low PPI, but the screen resolution is good, but there are many smartphones present around 10K INR with better pixel density and 720p display.

[one_third_last][blockquote]

“The Design Of This Phone Reminds About M2

[/blockquote][/one_third_last]

Yes! The display can be broken but the touchscreen and the inner part will be safe. We have not done the drop test of this device, but we think that this phone is going to handle the petty amount of damage. This is a LCD display, thus, it is good for this price range one of the best, and honestly the brightness level of this phone is too good. Also, if you are familiar to Android then you know that the platform is battery sucker, so the lowest brightness level will make your battery survive more time. But, it comes with a battery saver mode which will help in saving battery life.

DSC_0200

The InFocus M350 is 127.7 x 62.7 x 10.6mm in dimensions and this is not a slim device. It is a little thick, but it’s weight is low as compared to many smartphones. It weighs about 146g. The weight of this phone is also okay, and we felt it is kind of a light thing to hold in the hand or to place in the pocket. The phone feels solid, it feels solid in the hand. The device comes with three standard capacitive touch buttons which are present with in the screen this time, and it is taking a little bit of space in the touchscreen this time, but it is not going to effect that much because it is going to disappear when games are turned on.

DSC_0193

This low priced smartphone is having all the required ports. There is also a noise cancellation port present on this device. Anyway, this phone is having an okay touch sensitivity and we haven’t faced difficulty with the response of touchscreen. The touch sensitivity was quite better than the InFocus M2 because that was lagging sometimes. Overall, this phone is quite good in the terms of hardware, design and display and you can see our ratings above and also hover on the other side to show your ratings.

OS, Messaging and Connectivity Features:

Screenshot_2015-07-15-15-53-56-tile

The InFocus M350 is running on the Android 4.4.2 KitKat wrapped under its proprietary InLife UI. The company has not split any beans regarding its future software update. It is has a 3.4.67 Kernel version which is going to be useful for the developers. Anyway, if you know the rooting process, then you can surely root the phone to help yourselves immensely with many a things.

[one_third_last][blockquote]

“The OS Is Again A Disappointment, With No Android Lollipop.

[/blockquote][/one_third_last]

On the software front, we did not find any kind of issue and as it is running on Android it is really good as you are going to get as many apps as you want to download from the Google Play Store. Android 4.4, KitKat improves on the speed and simplicity of Android 4.4 and includes all new features – Photo Sphere and a completely redesigned camera app, new Gesture Typing keyboard, Google Now with all new cards, and much more.

Everything in KitKat feels fast, fluid, and smooth. Moving between home screens and switching between apps is effortless, like turning the pages of a book. Android KitKat improves performance throughout the system, including faster orientation changes, quicker switching between recent apps, and smoother and more consistent rendering across the system through vsync and triple buffering.

DSC_0218

KitKat has more reactive and uniform touch responses, and makes your Android device even more responsive by boosting your device’s CPU instantly when you touch the screen, and turns it down when you don’t need it to improve battery life.The clock has been totally redesigned with an all new look which includes both a digital and analog clock style. The world clock lets you check the time in different cities right from the Clock app or your lock screen. So, that is all about the Android KitKat and now, let’s move on  towards the next thing which is the connectivity feature.

InFocus M350 is having a big screen, so you may have expected this device to bring luxurious typing quality to it, and it with stands on your expectation. Yup! it is pretty okay. If you are having small hands then will not find any trouble as it is a 5-inch display and it will be good for people with big hands to type in the landscape mode. So, if you are having small hands better use the portrait mode

Screenshot_2015-07-15-15-53-42

The people after texting can’t say that they are facing any kind of finger pain issues. The keys are having good space between them and in the review video you can find a lot regarding texting. Also, we have used fast typing test and the buttons were working fine whcih means that you can use this device well in case of emergency typing.

DSC_0208This is a 4G only device and has connectivity features like Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, USB port and a 3.5mm headphone jack as well. It uses micro-SIM card and we have checked all the connectivity features, and no problems were found with the connectivity features. Overall, this phone was also quite good in the terms of OS and Connectivity. You can find our ratings above for this section too. It also supports OTG, which we forgot to mention above.

Camera and Processor & Performance:

DSC_0199The InFocus M350 Review Video is also present below, so do watch that too. It comes with an 8-Megapixl AutoFocus camera with the single LED flash and it is capable of shooting FHD videos as well. This device can shoot in a resolution of 1080p. Under 10K INR, there are a lot smartphones available with 1080p HD video shooting capability, thus it is not a big deal. The primary camera comes with a CMOS BSI sensor and takes image in 3264 x 2448 pixels. Also, it come with features like HDR, AF, Geo tagging, Digital Zoom, Panaroma, Touch Focus, Continuous shooting, ISO setting, Face Detection, White Balance setting, Blue filter glass and much more.

Focusing was good on this device and sometimes we didn’t faced lag in automatic exposure detection. The final textures were good, and one of the best. The macro shots were very good, also we have tested this camera in sunlight and the results very quite nice. But, the camera performed very well in low light conditions. We have expected that from this camera as the InFocus M2 also performed well during the low light conditions, and it can take some great shots at night. The single LED flash is also quite powerful.

DSC_0194Anyway, moving ahead with the InFocus M350 Review, on the front of this device there is also an 8-Megapixel camera present, which is quite useful as it has got the 4G support, so, you can make the video calls with it. On the other hand, you can use the front camera to set your hair style and see your beautiful face. Also, you can shoot FHD videos with it. It will bring very good details on screen.

DSC_0201This time there is no flash present on the front side of this device. We have deeply tested both these cameras and the rear camera is pretty good and the front camera is also okay. At this moment, we have got photos to share and you can find out more in the InFocus M350 Review video below.

Screenshot_2015-07-15-15-53-03This device is also packing a Quad-Core processor. The smartphone is using the MediaTek MT6732 processor, which was launched earlier this year. It is a true Quad-Core processor and we have done both benchmark test and gaming review video of this smartphone, . It comes with th ARM Mali T760 MP2 GPU and you can check it’s score below. he Antutu scores are provided above and you can clearly see that the scores are outstanding as there are many phones which are priced above 10K and brought a score of 18000. So, in comparison to those phones, it is far better. The Quadrant score was also good and you can see the live gaming performance and quadrant score in the InFocus M350 Video Review below.

DSC_0216The handset is quite good for gaming. We have played games like Asphalt 8, Brother in Arms, Gun Battleship and many more. All these games worked well on this smartphone, but there was no lag during the movement. We should also keep the price tag in mind as the phone offers a lot of things under 10K INR.

Screenshot_2015-07-15-15-53-20We have also played a lot of Full HD videos on the smartphone, and the playback was quite good, there were a few hesitating moments, but overall, it was good. Multitasking was quite good and we do not think that the consumers are going to face day-to-day multitasking problems. The battery life of this device was quite good and it lasted for 8 hours and 58 minutes. Also, we saw a good thing, that the battery life was not decreasing uniformly. It was decreasing slowly, and that was a good sign. It comes with 2GB of RAM too.

Others:

InFocus M350 ReviewInFocus M350 is not a bad phone, but it is not the best in the market as it will give you a good performance, but it will lag in some areas and apart from that, we have also checked the call quality of this phone and we have found it satisfying, and the person on the other side was able to hear clearly. The internal storage of this device is 16GB and you can expand the external storage up to 64GB via a MicroSD card, and it is the only smartphone which supports that amount of expandable storage.

DSC_0192The rest of the phones support, only up to 32GB of expandable storage. The handset comes with a nice ceramic matte finish, and you can take photos in high speed burst mode too. Also, the front camera supports upto 15 beauty effects. This device is also having many other features which includes playing various video and audio formats and much more.

DSC_0211There are two microphones for noise reduction and also, on removing the back panel  you will be able to see dual-SIM card slots and a MicroSD card slot. The handset also comes with a 2500mAh non-removable battery. The battery life was fairly good. The display worked very well in the sunlight too.

Conclusion:

DSC_0213The InFocus M350 is not a high end phone, but the company has tried to put their best efforts as the device is having very good feature. Also, this phone is available in both White and Black colors. This device is priced at Rs. 7,999, and you can get it from Online retailer–Snapdeal. It is one of the good smartphone present in India, under 8K INR at this moment. So, there you go that was all about the InFocus M350 Review and  watch the complete review video below to know more. Also, check out the image gallery underneath. Thanks for reading our review. Please Hover Above to rate this smartphone. Also, you will need to buy a protective case as the smartphone can get dirty, and it picks up smudges and grease easily.

InFocus M350 Review Video:

[youtube url=”https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vI0Vyc92SMA”]

[signoff icon=”attention”]The InFocus M350 Review is totally genuine and we shared our views honestly. Thanks a lot to the folks over at InFocus for sending us the M350.[/signoff]

Image Gallery:

If you have followed us on youtube then you may know about Rob.Kaustabh aka Rob is a tech guy with having an experience of tech blogging since 2009.He is a sort of person who wants to provide you latest updates,to keep you updated.He basically likes to write Articles and post videos.Currently,he is senior editor in our tech blogging site and has promised to give you regular updates for many years.

Recently Published Stories

OnePlus 5T

OnePlus 5T launched with good specs and amazing price

OnePlus has been teasing the OnePlus 5T for a while now, and we know how much powerful was the OnePlus

Google Pixel 2

Google Pixel 2 and Pixel 2 XL announced with prices and specs

A few days ago, nope, actually a few months ago we heard about the Google Pixel 2 and Pixel XL.

Apple iPhone 8

5 reasons not to buy Apple iPhone 8

A week ago, Apple iPhone 8, iPhone 8 Plus and iPhone X or iPhone 10 were introduced. Apple turned 10

Apple iPhone X

Apple iPhone X expected price and launch date in India

Apple has just announced the new Apple iPhone X and everything looks great and promising. Tim Cook, the CEO of

Apple iPhone X

Apple iPhone X launched: Price, Features are here

The cupertino tech giant is live at Apple Park, and they are revealing a lot of products. They have already

Apple iPhone 8

Apple iPhone 8 and iPhone 8 Plus announced, features explained here

Everything is going on here, Apple is live from the Steve Jobs theater and they have announced the Apple Watch